Epigraph

August 28, 2008 bayleeheisler

 

“My aim is to put down on paper what I see and what I feel in the best and simplest way.”

-Ernest Hemingway

About my Epigraph:

            The simplest way to write what I feel is to look back on my childhood memories of which I never put much thought into while they were forming. I remember many details from my younger years, including riding a bicycle for the first time and waking up on Christmas morning ready to power through my presents. As I look back today, however, it has become easier to describe these experiences through descriptive words and emotions. I believe Anne Lamott is correct when she explains that the best writing comes from telling the truth. It doesn’t matter if a memory is positive or negative, as long as one is able to describe it as honestly and thoroughly as they can remember. Writing is not simply a way to get published and make money, but to re-experience hopeful memories or let go of painful memories through releasing the emotions. Writing can be a simple task when I acknowledge my inner feelings and allow the words to flow from my fingertips. I feel Writing is not meant to be perfect the first moment I sit down and turn on my computer screen. It is not meant to be perfect at all- there is no such thing as perfect. It is instead a process in which I must connect to a deeper side of myself and allow vulnerability to slowly peer through as I recollect on past happenings. There is no way to create a genuine piece of writing if I cannot connect with the words on a personal level. Whether I feel like sitting down and transcribing or not, writing is the perfect outlet to release stress and relinquish a feeling.

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts